Score Scroller (2006)

This is a kind of simple machine which suggests new ways to indicate music for musicians. The music score is written on seven rolls of paper mounted in the box. The box has 42 windows from which player are able to see only fragments of the overall score through the windows. When the handle is turned by hand, the paper moves, so the visible fragments always change.
1. There are two windows on both sides. Composers can set their own rules regarding how the paper can or should be read by the performers.
2. seven rolls of paper move at different speeds.
3. The person who turns the handle can control the speed i.e. the tempo of the performance.
4. Figures that the player can see from both sides are "retrograde inversions" of each other.

Possible usages:
1. Composing special pieces for this box.
2. Composing special pieces using graphic notation.
3. Pasting fragments of existing pieces on to these paper rolls.




First piece which was composed for the Score scroller is "one day closer to paradise" for 6 musicians. It was performed on 30th Nov. 2006 at Rijksmuseum in the Netherlands.

Trumpet:Brad Henkel
Vibraphone:Sam Sowyrda
Guitar:Keane Bhatt
Violoncello:Harald Austbo
Recorder:Miako Klein
Voice:Marjon Ittner
Conductor:Daisuke Terauchi

World premiere at Rijksmuseum at Amsterdam

You can see the movie here.

After the performance "One day closer to paradise", a 2nd piece for score scroller "SAKURA" was composed.
In this piece, some new rules is added to "One day closer to paradise".
"SAKURA" was performed at the concert "Nieuwe Muziek Arena" at Sweelinkzaal in Amsterdam on 7th Dec. 2006.

You can see the movie of "SAKURA" here.